Women’s Olympic soccer schedule: Complete dates, times, TV channels to watch every match from 2021 Tokyo Games

Women's Olympic soccer schedule: Complete dates, times, TV channels to watch every match from 2021 Tokyo Games

Who can stop the No. 1-ranked U.S. women’s national soccer team’s run to the gold medal? That is the theme of the Women’s Football Tournament at the 2021 Tokyo Olympics and it will be Canada to get the next crack at it after the USA advanced to the semifinals. 

There are now just four nations vying for Olympic soccer gold in Tokyo in the seventh women’s Olympic soccer tournament since 1996. The USA has made it to all but one gold-medal match in the event’s history, winning it on four occasions with Norway and Germany claiming the other two. The Germans are the reigning Olympic gold medalists, but they failed to qualify for the 2021 tournament.

The final four in the 2021 Olympic soccer semifinals will see the No. 1-ranked USA take on No. 8 Canada, while No. 5 Sweden battles No. 9 Australia, which has advanced to the semifinals for the first time in its history.

How to watch women’s Olympic soccer in USA

  • TV channels: NBCSN, USA Network, Olympic Channel
  • Spanish-language TV: Telemundo, Universo
  • Streams: fuboTV, NBCOlympics.com, NBC Sports app, Telemundo Deportes app, TelemundoDeportes.com

TV coverage of select matches from the women’s soccer tournament will be carried by five channels in the NBC family of networks in English and Spanish (match-by-match listings below).

Every soccer match from the men’s and women’s tournaments will be streamed on NBCOlympics.com (English), TelemundoDeportes.com (Spanish), the NBC Sports app and Telemundo Deportes app with user authentication (verification of cable/satellite subscription).

The NBC and Telemundo families of TV networks are also available on fuboTV (free 7-day trial): NBC, NBCSN, USA Network, CNBC, Olympic Channel, Golf Channel, Telemundo and Universo.

Women’s Olympic soccer schedule 2021

NOTE: All matches will be streamed in the USA on NBCOlympics.com, TelemundoDeportes.com, NBC Sports app and the Telemundo Deportes app with user authentication.

Friday, July 30 (Quarterfinals)

Match Highlights
QF 1: Canada 0, Brazil 0 (4-3 on PKs)  
QF 2: Great Britain 3, Australia 4 (a.e.t.)  
QF 3: Sweden 3, Japan 1  
QF 4: Netherlands 2, USA 2 (2-4 on PKs)  

Monday, Aug. 2 (Semifinals)

Match Time (ET) TV channels Stream
Semifinal 1: Canada vs. USA 4 a.m. USA Network, Telemundo fuboTV
Semifinal 2: Australia vs. Sweden 7 a.m. USA Network, Universo fuboTV

Thursday, Aug. 5 (Gold- and bronze-medal matches)

Match Time TV channels Stream
Bronze: Semifinal losers 4 a.m. USA Network fuboTV
Gold/silver: Semifinal winners 10 p.m. USA Network fuboTV

Women’s Olympic soccer: Tournament format

The women’s soccer tournament started out with a group phase that eliminated four of the 12 teams: New Zealand, China, Zambia and Chile The remaining eight moved on to the quarterfinals and the beginning of the knockout rounds.

Group stage: The 12 teams were split into Groups E, F and G, to avoid confusion with the men’s tournament groups A-D. The top two teams in each group automatically advanced along with the two best third-place teams (Japan and Australia).

The round-robin group stage awarded three points for a win, one for a draw and none for a loss. Teams were ranked based on points accumulated with the first tiebreakers being goal difference and goals scored, in that order. If teams were still tied after the second tiebreaker, then there were other predetermined criteria.

Knockout rounds: The top eight teams moved on to a fixed-bracket, single-elimination knockout round that kicks off with the quarterfinals and then moving to the semifinals and finally the medal matches.

Getty Images

Original source here

#Womens #Olympic #soccer #schedule #Complete #dates #times #channels #watch #match #Tokyo #Games

About the Author

Marie Maynes
Marie Maynes is a Sports enthusiast and writes for the Sports section of ANH.